Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers BangaloreThe Royal Challengers Bangalore are a franchise owned by the United Breweries Group, after the group's Chairman, Vijay Mallya, paid $111.6m for them. They are captained by the New Zealand skipper Daniel Vettori and coached by Ray Jennings.

They have ante-post odds of around 6/1 in the IPL Betting Market.

IPL Record

The team faired poorly in the 2008 IPL, finishing seventh after they won just four games. In 2009, after a poor start under Kevin Pietersen, the team recovered well when Rahul Dravid assumed the captaincy. They ended up winning eight of their 14 matches and finished third in the table, qualifying for the knock-out stages. In the semi-final they met the Deccan Chargers but lost by just six runs in a great match.

In IPL 4 they reached the semi-finals for the second consecutive season, but this time they lost to Mumbai Indians by 35 runs. Last season they went one better and reached the final, only to lose to the Chennai Super Kings by 58 runs.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad

Banglore splashed out $1m for medium pacer- bowlerVinay Kumar and $220,000 for spinner Muttiah Muralitharan to boost what is looking like an exciting squad.

Mohammad Kaif
Cheteshwar Pujara
Arun Karthik
Luke Pomersbach
Mayank Agarwal
Saurabh Tiwary
Virat Kohli
Rilee Rossouw
Vijay Zol

Syed Mohammad
Abhimanyu Mithun
Zaheer Khan
Sreenath Aravind
Dirk Nannes
Charl Langeveldt
Muttiah Muralitharan
Vinay Kumar
Harshal Patel
KP Appanna
Abrar Kazi
Ryan Ninan
Ronit More

All Rounders
Daniel Vettori (Captain)
Asad Pathan
Tillakaratne Dilshan
Chris Gayle
Andrew McDonald
Raju Bhatkal
Karun Nair
S Thiagarajan

Wicket Keepers
AB de Villiers
Muralidharen Gautam