Lancashire Lightning

Lancashire Lightning

Lancashire Lightning Cricket BettingOne of the stronger teams on paper, the Lancashire Lightning have had a very strong squad of players and are certainly one of the teams to be feared in any one day format of the game. They are currently ranked third in the Twenty20 Cup Rankings

Twenty20 Cup Performances

Lancashire has a very consistent record in this tournament over the years, reaching the final once in 2005, where they lost to Somerset Sharks. They have been semi finalists twice in 2004 and 2007 and were quarter finalists in both 2008 and 2009.

In the 2009 competition they won the Northern Division losing only once in nine matches completed, winning all other eight and finishing with an impressive 17 points. They were favourites to win in the T20 Outright win betting market, but failed at the quarter final stage where they were very unfortunate to be knocked out by Somerset in a bowl out as no play was possible during the scheduled time frame.

2009/10 Squad

The squad is made up from 23 players that include top England all rounder, Andrew Flintoff and star Indian batsman, VVS Laxman.


Player Nationality Style
Karl Brown England RHB
Mark Chilton England RHB
VVS Laxman India RHB
F de Plessis SA RHB
Paul Horton Aus RHB
Mal Loye England RHB
Adrian Shankar England RHB


Player Nationality Style
James Anderson England RH Fast
Steven Cheetham England R Fast Med
Kyle Hogg England R Med Fast
Gary Keedy England Slow Left Arm
Simon Kerrigan England Slow Left Arm
Tom Lungley England Left Med
Sajid Mahmood England R Fast Med
Oliver Newby England R Fast Med
Stephen Parry England Slow Left Arm
Tom Smith England Right Fast Med

All Rounders

Player Nationality Bat Bowl
Andrew Flintoff England RHB R Arm Fast
Glen Chapple England RHB R Fast Med
Steven Croft England RHB R Med Fast
Steve Mullaney England RHB R Med Fast

Wicket Keepers

Player Nationality Style
Gareth Cross England RHB
Luke Sutton England RHB

Top Batsmen - 2009

The batting stats for the top five Lancashire batsmen are below. Steve Croft topped the runs scored list with an excellent 259 runs in 9 matches.

Player Innings Runs Balls Average HS  S/R 6's
Steve Croft    9 259 192   37.00 83*  134.89  8
Paul Horton    9 166 119   18.44 41  139.49  2
VVS Laxman    3 159 120   79.50 78*  132.50  3
Ashwell Prince    6 159 146   53.00 44  108.90  1
F de Plessis    8 153  121   21.85 78*  126.44  4

Top Bowlers - 2009

Below are the statistics on the Lancashire top bowlers in the 2009 Twenty20 Cup. Those who will be making T20 Cup Free Bets will find this information helpful as and when they place a bet in the Twenty20 Top Wicket taker Odds.

In 2009 the lead wicket takers were Glen Chapple and Sajid Mahmood who both took 11 wickets. See Twenty20 Cup Top Bowler betting. Their stats along with other leading wicket takers are listed below and they include best bowling performance, economy rates and averages.

Player Matches Innings Runs Wickets Best Average  Economy Mdns
Glen Chapple   8   8 186  11 2-11   16.90  6.20  0
Sajid Mahmood   9   9 242  11 4-29   22.00  7.11  1
Steven Parry   9   9 223  10 3-20   22.30  6.75  0
Gary Keedy   9   9 190    6 2-23   31.66  6.55  1