Kings Xl Punjab

Kings Xl Punjab

Kings Xl PunjabThe Kings are owned by Preity Zinta, Karen Paul and Mohit Burman who bought the franchise for $76million. For the upcoming 2012 season they will once again be coached by Michael Bevan and captained by Adam Gilchrist.

Kings find themselves placed as one of the outsiders in the current IPL Odds.

IPL Record

In the first season the Kings came second in the League, winning ten of their 14 matches, only to be knocked out in the semi-finals by the Chennai Super Kings. In 2009 they could only manage fifth place and thus failed to qualify and in 2010 they were the wooden-spooners finishing rock-bottom. They faired better last season, finishing fifth as they just missed out on the qualifiers.

Kings Squad

In the recent auction Kings purchased spin bowler Ramesh Powar for $160,000, and added the Australian pacer James Faulkner ($190,000) and the Pakistan all-rounder Azhar Mahmood ($200,000).

Mandeep Singh
Paul Valthaty
Shaun Marsh
David Hussey
David Miller
Paras Dogra
Sunny Singh
Siddharth Chitnis
Gurkeerat Singh

Harmeet Singh
Praveen Kumar
Piyush Chawla
Bhargav Bhatt
Ryan Harris
Shalabh Srivastava
Vikramjeet Malik
Stuart Broad
VRV Singh
Ramesh Powar
Love Ablish
Amit Yadav
Parvinder Awana

All Rounders
Abhishek Nayar
Dimitri Mascarenhas
Rajagopal Satish
Bipul Sharma
Azhar Mahmood
James Faulkner

Wicket Keepers
Adam Gilchrist (Captain)
Nitin Saini