Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers The Deccan Chargers are owned by the Deccan Chronicle and were the winners of the IPL in 2009 after beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore. They are led by the Sri Lankan wicket keeper Kumar Sangakkara and coached by Darren Lehmann.

The Charges are currently one of outsiders in the IPL Odds.

IPL Record

The Deccan Chargers finished last in the first IPL season in 2008 but bounced back to win the tournament in 2009, beating the Royal Challengers Bangalore by just 6 runs in a tense final.

In 2010 the Chargers were unable to play their home games at Hyderabad due to the ongoing political crisis in the area but they still managed to reach the semi-finals. In 2011 they had a disappointing season an failed to make it out of the group stages.

Deccan Chargers 2012 Squad

At the 2012 IPL Player Auction they missed out on signing the exciting Ravindra Jadeja but managed to purchase Parthiv Patel for $650,000 and Daniel Harris for $70,000.

Bharat Chipli
Cameron White
Shikhar Dhawan
Ishank Jaggi
JP Duminy
Arjun Yadav
Sunny Sohal
Dwaraka Ravi Teja
Darren Bravo
Daniel Harris
Chris Lynn
Tanmay Mishra*
Tanmay Srivastava
Abhishek Jhunjhunwala
Akshath Reddy

Ankit Sharma
Dale Steyn
Anand Rajan
Rusty Theron
Manpreet Gony
Amit Mishra
TP Sudhindra
Akash Bhandari
Veer Pratap Singh
Sneha Kishore

All Rounders
Daniel Christian
Biplab Samantray
Ashish Reddy
Syed Quadri
Prem vardhan

Wicket Keepers
Kumar Sangakkara (Captain)
Parthiv Patel